Starting over in 2014

Hello old friends! It was a helluva 2013 and needless to say, I ditched blogging to focus on myself, getting my Masters, planning my wedding, being married, working full time, etc. etc.

Now that it’s 2014,  I don’t feel less stressed, I just feel more lazy and procrastinate more. I’m using the excuse that I was so busy last year that the next year I’m allowed to detox and breathe deeply. Really, I’m just tired all the time. 

Tired of winter. 

Tired of working for “the man” and being so bored I nearly fall asleep.

Tired of doing the same old thing over and over again.

So, I’m doing something about it. 2014 is going to be the year that I begin the “live for myself” plan I’ve conjured up. Maybe it’ll work out, maybe it won’t, but it doesn’t matter because I can sense the journey will be more fun than the end game.

For starters, I’m writing a book. I mean, why not right? If it takes off, awesome. If not, I still wrote a damn book. I promise it’ll be full of correct grammar usage and blah blah. My blog is not and will not be. It’s a mental dump whereas my book is meant to be read without feeling annoyed. 

Second, I AM GOING TO GET THROUGH T-25 IF IT KILLS ME. I’ve started a lot of workout programs and get distracted, worn out, unmotivated. I’m so done not working out that I made my friend Amber burn the discs for me. I figure 25 minutes a day is worth it. 

Third, I am going to travel 3-4 times this year. I already have one under my belt since I spent New Year’s in Denver, and our honeymoon to Mexico is in February. I have the rest of the year to manage two more trips. Easy. 

Fourth, get a new job before I lose all sense of my soul. No need for explanation, half of you I’m sure are reading this thinking ‘Yeah, my job is sucking my soul into oblivion too’. Apparently having a Master’s degree means you get to take notes in meetings because you have the best handwriting (note: because I’m female) and that about sums up my job. Thank you, chauvinists of the world. I’ll jump off my soapbox now.

Lastly, I will blog. Not daily, but yes I will blog and it will be full of amazing things like some crap recipe I made, the inches of snow that fell in Minnesota, how my fantasy football team is doing, and why being someone’s wife does not mean I am willing to accept the idea of “wifely duties”.

With that, I leave you with a photo from my wedding in August. It was awesome, flew by too effing fast, and I seriously regret socializing with only a small amount of people when there were hundreds to chat with and thank for coming.

Image

xoxo

One thought on “Starting over in 2014

Leave a Reply

