Welcome to the New Year!

Welp, I was a slacker in 2012 and stopped posting when school/work/wedding planning/50 Shades of Grey/Pinterest began to distract me. But now, I’m back and pretty excited to document what’s going on in my life. 

Instead of catching you up on what I’ve been doing for the past 3 months, I’ll just make it simple and start with the typical New Year post by discussing my New Years Resolution.

They say you should only have 1 Resolution to make sure it’s an attainable goal. Also, don’t make it too vague like “lose weight” but rather say “lose 10 lbs. by March”. Makes sense. So here’s my Resolution:

Make healthier choices.

Mind blowing, I know. In reality, this means drink water over soda at work. Drink black flavored coffee instead of a mocha/latte from Starbucks daily. Allow myself a good stretch every morning. Light candles more often. Clean up after myself before I leave the room. 

Ya know, basics. This being said, my new Keurig from Christmas is helping out with the coffee thing. The sick part is that a new Starbucks opened near my house this winter and I was on a first-name basis with the drive-thru girl. After $4.88 every day for nearly 3 months, I had had enough, and so had my bank account.

My morning stretches consist of an 8 minute daily morning stretch DVD from APY60. The actual yoga work outs are seriously rough but the morning stretches, body movements and meditation have really improved my overall mood and focus not just for the morning, but throughout the rest of the day.

So there you have it. Cut down to the basics and find what changes you can make now to improve yourself for the long term. However, as a side note, I refuse to quit smoking right now. That’s just too much commitment for one girl.

xoxo

One thought on “Welcome to the New Year!

  1. Great pick! I think that’s an excellent (and attainable goal.) And the smoking thing…I don’t blame you. I feel like starting again every day!

Leave a Reply

